Copy of Add a subheading 8 - The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh - REVIEW
Psychological Thriller

The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh – REVIEW

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh
Published by Bookouture on August 12, 2022
ISBN: 9781803146768
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Psychological, Women, Coming of Age, General
Pages: 338
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh - REVIEW

You can always trust your friends. Can’t you?
 
Abi is starting a new chapter of her life. Her son is leaving for college, she has her dream job and she is finally ready to find love again after her relationship with her ex Cal has ended.
 
Jo has been by Abi’s side for years. They’ve navigated all of life’s ups and downs together. Even when Abi betrayed Jo with Cal all those years ago, she forgave her and the three remain close.
 
So when Abi starts dating again, Jo and Cal begin to spend more time together. But soon Jo receives threatening messages telling her to stay away from him. And when Abi comes to her terrified, clutching a note that says “I want your life,” it becomes clear that someone wants to cause the friends harm.
 
Because in Jo and Abi’s close-knit circle someone has been living a lie for years and it’s about to come to light. But when it does, who will make it out alive?
 
An utterly addictive psychological thriller which is packed with twist after twist from the USA Today bestselling author of My Sister’s Husband. Perfect for fans of K.L. Slater, The Wife Between Us and Gone Girl.
 
What everyone’s saying about The Ex Between Us:
 
“Every book by this author is phenomenal and this being her best… I devoured this book in one sitting. Just read it… You will love it.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Wow!!! This book kept me engaged from the first chapter. I felt as though I was right there with the characters, the author did a fantastic job of bringing them to life!!!!!… Had lots of twists and unexpected thrills… A wild ride… I loved it!!!!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Wow! Nicola Marsh hits it out of the park again! Such a great story…Intriguing… Rich and well-developed characters that added to the story at every turn… Highly recommend!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Every time, Nicola Marsh. Every time!…You suck me into a story, you mess with my head, spinning my emotions and thoughts around as if you flung me in the tumble dryer, and then I finish, astounded at the ending… Brilliant!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“If you like twists and a book that keeps you thinking and guessing then this is the book for you!… I highly recommend!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Ex Between Us has a killer premise. The story was impactful with a deep plot that evokes emotion on every page. Marsh constantly stokes the flames of mystery.

The story had me instantly with the book cover. Mysterious, the colours remind me of the feeling of sorrow. I had the feeling that the book would be chilling and atmospheric.

The story focuses on two main characters, Abi, and Jo. Abi is struggling after her only child, Rob leaves to go to college. Empty nest syndrome is real, she has focussed her entire life on bringing him up to be the young, confident man he has become. Getting pregnant at seventeen took its toll but she wasn’t alone she had help from her parents, her best friend Jo, Rob’s father, Cal, and his best friend. The novel sets the tone straight away. She knows how lucky she has had it, even so, Cal has never been reliable and dependable, always leaving to go on photography jobs, flirting with other women, and being an absent father in Rob’s teenage years. He was never going to be the one that stayed devoted to their family. She knew, she accepted it but now it was time for her.

Reading The Ex Between Us reminded me of standing in the middle of a forest in the pitch dark, twigs begin to snap all around you, but you can’t see the threat watching. Nothing feels right, and the dark is as much a threat as the person stalking you. Just like the events that are plaguing Jo and Abi. Suddenly they are being targeted with vandalism and messages that allude to leaving a man alone. Abi has no interest in Cal anymore, but Jo still harbours illicit feelings toward him even if she tries to delude herself.

Nicola Marsh has a knack for creating taut plotlines that mess with your head. When Abi meets a new man, Noah, all these events start to ramp up a gear and you start to question just who is pulling the strings. Two old rivals are in town and Abi starts to question if they might be in on the pranks. Who would still be acting like teenagers when they are in their thirties? it’s a question that Abi asks herself time and time again. Lies and hidden secrets begin to unfold, some comforted me, but some created an anxious web of deceit.

Jo wasn’t particularly likable. She had a lot of unresolved trauma and pain from her childhood and unfortunately, it followed her into her adulthood. She has never felt good enough for anyone, and she begins to think she has always played second fiddle to her best friend, Abi. Her mother preferred her, their friends preferred her and her unrequited love, Cal, chose Abi over her. It was a seed – the more she poured her hate into it, the more it grew and became a dangerous obsession.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

image 731x1024 - The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh - REVIEW

USA TODAY bestselling author and multi-award winner Nicola Marsh writes page-turning fiction to keep you up all night.

She has published 80 novels and sold over 8 million copies worldwide.

She currently writes contemporary romance and domestic suspense.

She’s a Waldenbooks, Bookscan, Amazon, iBooks and Barnes & Noble bestseller, a RBY (Romantic Book of the Year) and National Readers’ Choice Award winner, and a multi-finalist for many other awards.

A physiotherapist for thirteen years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, cheering on her beloved North Melbourne Kangaroos, and curling up with a good book!

Nicola Marsh

four stars - The Ex Between Us by Nicola Marsh - REVIEW

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: