Copy of Add a subheading 2 - Review: Whisper Cottage by Anne Wyn Clark
Psychological Thriller

Review: Whisper Cottage by Anne Wyn Clark

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

whisper cottage by anne wyn clark - Review: Whisper Cottage by Anne Wyn ClarkWhisper Cottage by Anne Wyn Clark
Published by Avon Publishing on September 2, 2021
ISBN: 9780008459987
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Domestic, Suspense, Psychological, Gothic, General
Pages: 368
Format: ARC, eBook
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three half stars - Review: Whisper Cottage by Anne Wyn Clark

‘I couldn't put it down, read it cover to cover in a day... A fabulous chilling thriller.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
A mysterious figure. A whispering community. A deadly secret...
When Stina and Jack move to an old rural cottage, they’re hoping for a fresh start. Their new home is run-down compared to their neighbour’s, but generous Mrs Barley quickly becomes a friend.
Until Stina sees a mysterious figure in the widow’s garden, and her happy new life begins to unravel. And when she hears strange noises in the night, she is forced to question if Mrs Barley is what she seems.
Why do the other villagers whisper about her? Why is she so eager to help the couple? And what is she hiding in her picture-perfect home?
A haunting, twisty story about the power of secrets and rumours, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware’s The Turn of the Key and Lucy Atkins’s Magpie Lane.
Readers are gripped by Whisper Cottage:
‘Unputdownable. I loved it!... Had me hooked... Great, fast paced mystery.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Full of twists and turns you just don’t see coming... Read it in one sitting.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Super suspenseful book with lots of twists and “could it be you moments”... Keeps the reader guessing until the end.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Excellent... Gripping... I raced through it.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Brilliant!... Suspenseful, gripping, compulsive... It would make an amazeballs Netflix film (hint, hint)!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘I was shocked to the core... and that doesn’t happen often! It’s one of those stories that you’re dying to figure out (but can’t!)... 5/5, loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Creepy, claustrophobic and compelling! A beautifully written thriller that kept me glued to my Kindle’ Miranda Rijks
‘I devoured this book in a couple of sittings because I needed to find out what was going on!... Twists and turn to keep the reader enthralled!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Whisper Cottage is a domestic thriller about Stina and Jack, a young couple who are desperate to leave the rat race that is Birmingham.  They are both sick and tired of worrying if they leave their front door unlocked even for ten seconds they are running the risk of aggravated burglary.  They find their dream home in the Warwickshire village of Avoncote and they just know they are going to be genuinely happy here.  Newlywed and expecting their first baby together and with the addition of the two-year-old border collie, Jobie life couldn’t be better.  The only thing that niggles at Stina is the village gossip about their elderly neighbour, Mrs. Barley, and why does she keep chanting at night? 

Jack has gained employment as a vet surgeon in the local practice.  He’ll need to put long hours in and the mortgage is slightly stretched and the house needs some work on it but they’ll cope.  It’s such an idyllic place to bring up a family.  Stina is pregnant and working from home as a freelance writer, it doesn’t pay much but it helps keep their heads above water.  The happy couple is enjoying getting to know their surroundings and the people of Avoncote but they all seem to want to warn them away from their neighbour, Mrs. Barley.  Witchcraft is intoned but they’ve only experienced warmth and friendliness from her.  She’s a bit eccentric but what elderly person isn’t?

Soon things become very strange.  She hears things go bump in the night, she hears conversations from Mrs. Barley’s home but they know she lives alone.  People close to Stina and Jack start having accidents and just who is the dark figure that only Stina can see hanging around next door’s summerhouse?  Jack doubts his wife and chalks it up to pregnancy hormones and a bit of insomnia and later after the birth of their child, sleep deprivation.  Stina likes their neighbour but she can’t deny that things are odd and there’s all the gossip.

The prologue is what had me tearing through the pages.  It was intriguing and very dark.  It was daring but the payoff was good.  As a mother, it just pulls at those heartstrings.  I enjoyed the majority of the book but the first half was more thrilling in the final half.  Towards the end of the story I felt like the plot dragged a lot, not much was happening and the final reveal felt a bit rushed.  I liked the ending it just felt a bit too sudden.  Overall a very enjoyable read. 

three half stars - Review: Whisper Cottage by Anne Wyn Clark

2 Comments

Leave a Reply