Add a subheading 5 - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody
Horror

Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Camp Death by Jim Ody
Published by Question Mark Horror on August 30 2021
Genres: Horror, Young Adult
Pages: 213
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

The place had a gruesome past that nobody wanted to talk about…

Camp Deathe is now a great place to spend the summer. Ritchie soon finds a group of outsiders like himself. Teenagers who ignore the organised activities, and bunk off in the old abandoned cabins deep in the woods. The cabins that have a history.

The campfire monster stories were meant to just scare them. Nobody expected them to come true. Then one of the teenagers disappears in the middle of the night.

Something is watching them. It hides in the woods and hunts at night.

Ritchie will have to uncover the secrets of the camp, and understand his own problems in order to survive.
Camp Death is Book 1 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine.

Check out Book 2 - Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell

Camp Death was my first story by Jim Ody but it certainly won’t be my last.  I have really enjoyed checking out these point horror-type stories making a resurgence.  From the prologue, I was intrigued and a little freaked out.  A cracking storyline with a hard-hitting writing style.  The story follows Richie, a boy still trying to find himself.  Themes of unrequited teenage love, angst, and social awkwardness are relative to the problems of today’s teenagers.  What I particularly enjoyed about this one was just how Jim Ody was able to transport me to the centre of the story, like in the middle of a perfect storm I anticipated the danger that would ensue. 

Ritchie is forced to go on a summer trip with his parents and his sister.  The back and forth between Richie and his sister was reminiscent of sibling interactions in every home.  I think we can all relate to how older siblings made us feel but know that when push came to shove they’d be there for us.  Immediately, you can tell that something isn’t right about Camp Deathe, the organisers, the kids, and the surroundings scream creepy.  You know something dirty is going to hit the fan.

What happens when you visit an abandoned part of the camp?  Well, as all horror movies can attest to – it’s not going to be good news and Richie finds out too late.  Ody had many questions spinning in my mind and I had to keep reading to find out the answers.  It only takes one decision for life to crumble all around us, one bad, awful decision.  I found that the author had a way of making me care for a character that at times was pretty unlikeable.  I guess really, what teenager is? 

I really enjoyed this walk back in time to many evenings spent reading point horror with a torch under the duvet scared witless.  It gave me vibes of the 80’s slasher horror.  The pace is always trucking along and never felt bored, intact I felt like I was in a race to the finish. 

QMP Week 1 1 724x1024 - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

QMP Week 2 1 724x1024 - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jim Ody Author Picture - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

Jim writes dark psychological/thrillers, Horror and YA books that have endings you won’t see coming, and favours stories packed with wit. He has written over a dozen novels and many more short-stories spanning many genres. 

Jim has a very strange sense of humour and is often considered a little odd.  When not writing he will be found playing the drums, watching football and eating chocolate. He lives with his long-suffering wife, three beautiful children and two indignant cats in Swindon, Wiltshire UK.



Follow him at:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/JimOdyAuthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jimodyauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jim_Ody_Author

Amazon : https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jim-Ody/e/B019A6AMSY/

four stars - Blog Tour: Camp Death by Jim Ody

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: