Add a subheading 3 - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell
Horror

Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O’Farrell

QMP Week 1 - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ouija Published by Question Mark Horror on August 30 2021
Genres: Horror
Pages: 171
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell

The only thing for certain is the deaths were no accident.

Rayner High School once a prestigious school stands in ruins after such a terrible event.

A year later, a group of friends return to the abandoned school and their nightmare begins.

Something wants to get out and won’t take NO for an answer…

Ouija is Book 2 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine.

Ouija is a book that needs to be read by all fans of Point Horror, Fear Street and Goosebumps.  Boy, has reading this eerie story taken me back to my first experience of reading for fun!  It gave me the chills, the excitement and it brought me a taste of nostalgia.  I won’t lie, I had a lurking sense of trepidation going into this story.  Could I still get on board with Teen and Young Adult based narratives?  Did it have a storyline that I could still connect with?  Fear not, as it delivered on all those and still managed to get my adrenaline pumping.

Reading Ouija taught me that it is a very good thing to read out with our boundaries.  It’s good to test our limits because you just never know when those broken limits will lead to something extraordinary.  Upon hearing about this new release, I was very much seduced by the title.  I’ve lost count of how many movies I’ve sat frozen with fear whilst the protagonists play around with an Ouija  with disastrous effects.  It has everything I could ask for in a horror story – a disturbing opening scene.  A group of friends making unwise decisions.  An alternating timeline.

The perfect opening, a disturbing and dangerous game being played the previous year.  Then it’s fast forward to the present day when we meet six friends who make the likely bad decision to play with an Ouija board in the abandoned, Raynor High. Although this was a short read I really enjoyed O’Farrell’s exploration of teen behaviour and their need for freedom.  It was so reminiscent of 90’s horror movies, I was rattled, and I was a prisoner to the author’s cutthroat narrative. 

So, playing with an Ouija board in the site of a horrific tragedy?  Yeah everyone knows that’s not going to play out well.  Especially is you are Lara, who quite rightly knows this is a recipe for disaster.  Upon immediately sitting down to read this story its very apparent that the atmosphere is off, you can feel the tension in the air – its surrounding everyone and it threatens to kill.  O’Farrell’s debut novella but you really can’t tell, the story is seamless but with a killer instinct.  She has nailed that “every action has a consequence” trope.  Buckle in because the short sharp shocks has you looking over your own shoulder. 

Ouija is edge of your seat and scarily good.  O’Farrell has a honest and vibrant voice and provides a twisty sense of foreboding to her storytelling.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Zoé OFarrell Author Photo - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell

Zoé O’Farrell grew up in Watford but left the town life to live by the sea down at the White Cliffs of Dover.
She spends her days working with numbers before escaping in the evening to the world of words and movies. Her go-to relaxation is watching a scary movie or reading a terrifying book!

She is a book blogger and tour organiser just to keep her extra busy. When she is not reading or writing, you can usually find her watching Watford FC or at a gig. Failing that she can be found rolling her eyes at her husband as he acts the same age as her spitfire of a Mini-Me whilst separating her two cats.

Ouija is her debut novel.

Follow her at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zoelee.anthony

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zooloosbookdiary/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/zooloo2008Website : https://zooloosbookdiary.co.uk/

QMP Week 2 724x1024 - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell
four stars - Blog Tour: Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: