one good lie banner
Psychological Thriller

One Good Lie by Jane Isaac | Blog Tour Review

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Good Lie by Jane Isaac
Published by Canelo on June 24, 2021
ISBN: 9781800324022
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, General, Crime, Domestic, Suspense, Mystery & Detective, Amateur Sleuth, Police Procedural, Women Sleuths, Family & Relationships, Abuse, Domestic Partner Abuse, Anger, Grief, Dating, Siblings, Family Life, Small Town & Rural, City Life, Marriage & Long-Term Relationships
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - One Good Lie by Jane Isaac | Blog Tour Review

Her sister’s boyfriend. Her worst nightmare.
On the night of her mother’s wake, Ewan kisses a shocked Ruby. They both agree to pretend that the kiss never happened – in fact, according to Ewan, no one even needs to know he walked Ruby home.
Because Ewan is seeing Ruby’s sister, Sophie. He’s been wonderful to Sophie, comforting her after her mother’s murder and taking care of her little kids, too. In short, he’s been the perfect boyfriend. This was just a stupid mistake.
But when Ruby learns of another woman's murder close to Ewan’s route home on the night of the kiss, she fears that her lie has left her sister in terrible danger.
After all, how well do the sisters really know Ewan? How well do they know each other? And are they sure they know the truth about what really happened on the day their mother died?
A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Sue Watson, and Jackie Kabler.
Read what everyone is saying about One Good Lie:
Oh my GOODNESS!! I absolutely loved this... It got to the point where I was suspecting every single character in the book... The ending was twisty, thrilling, scary and, best of all, satisfying. Truly a wonderful psychological thriller that kept me captivated throughout!’ Shalini Boland, author of The Secret Mother, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘I can honestly say that this is psychological fiction at its best. Cleverly written and packed full of chilling suspense, the storyline immediately intrigues. The characterisation is excellent... With lots of delicious twists and clashes of personality that could set the pages on fire, One Good Lie ticks all the boxes for me. A hugely satisfying read and one I would highly recommend.’ Sheryl Browne, author of My Husband’s Girlfriend ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Jane Isaac never lets us down; this is fast-paced storytelling at its best. One Good Lie is a chilling, unputdownable read, packed with menace and suspense and increasingly claustrophobic as we are sucked ever deeper into Ruby and Sophie’s lives. Highly recommended!’ Linda Huber, author of Baby Dear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘A taut and twisty psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Jane Isaac knows how to craft a plot that will have you hooked. I didn't want to put this down.’ Rebecca Bradley, author of Blood Stained
An exciting psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Ruth Ware, Greer Hendricks, and Sarah Pekkanen... Excellently-written, well-plotted... I sped through this book and finished it in a day... If you're a fan of the thriller genre, you won't regret checking out this book’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘5 Stars! Highly recommend. It was hard to put this book down. It was a fast paced story full of suspense. I was hooked from the first chapter. This thriller was fun to read. I absolutely loved this story of two sisters. Well written, well plotted, engaging characters.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Book drought over! Hooked from page one, didn't stop reading until silly o'clock, had a few hours’ sleep, walked the dog then dived back in to finish. Totally believable characters, great plot... Plus a moving depiction of how easily one can get caught up in a controlling relationship.’ Goodreads Reviewer
Absolutely kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened. The ending didn’t disappoint. I highly recommend this one.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
A page-turning family drama where no one is quite what they seem, One Good Lie is expertly plotted and brilliantly executed.’ Susi Holliday, author of The Last Resort

When this book landed on my kindle I just had that deep instinctual knowledge that this was going to be my kind of book.  The relationship between siblings is a deep and complicated one.  We have this passed down expectation that we should be close with them but don’t look away too quickly because sibling rivalry will soon be skipping down the corridors of the mind.  The blurb had me searching for clues, is there something hidden in plain sight?  Is a shadow creeping at the very edge of your vision?  This stand-alone thriller was everything I needed at precisely the right time.

One Good Lie had a strong opening that had me hungering for more.  Two sisters, who couldn’t be more different if you had plucked them from a large crowd.  The saying like chalk and cheese springs to mind.  The starting cadence had the ethereal feel of a movie in slow motion.  The events and reasonings are happening in front of you but you know there is more to it all than what meets the eye. 

Sophie and Ruby are struggling to come to terms with the untimely death of their mother.  She was murdered, however, now that her killer is behind bars they want to move forward and are treating her wake as a celebration of her life.  Like any emotionally charged situation, Ruby has one too many to drink and gets herself into a bit of a state, Sophie’s boyfriend walks her home, but what is his motivation?  Ensuring his girlfriend’s sister gets home safe or is it romantically enclined?  He makes a pass at her which ultimately leaves Ruby wondering how much she knows about Ewan.  It starts a spiralling set of events that border on obsession and fear. 

Jane Isaacs took a microscope and focused it on the intricate relationship between siblings and the elephant in the room, grief.  The red herrings, the drama and the potential fallout had all my alarm bells ringing.  My favourite part of the novel was just how much the author had seeped her characters into reality.  Real-life situations were the catalyst of so much destruction.  Ruby wanted to know the truth, she was only looking out for her younger sister but ended up alienating herself due to her obsessive way of getting to the truth. 

Nothing makes a better psychological thriller than the human condition.  This is everything human, the relationships, the fallout, the impact of one little thought that can spiral.  Relationships are held together by a bit of string, the threads slowly unravelling.  A book that I just had to read one more chapter.

One Good Lie was shocking and compelling, I felt lost in maze of destruction and wanting – wanting to know the truth but afraid of the potential outcome. 


ABOUT JANE ISAAC

Jane Isaac - One Good Lie by Jane Isaac | Blog Tour Review

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter and dogs.

Jane is author of three bestselling detective series: DCI Helen Lavery, DI Will Jackman (based in Stratford upon Avon), and DC Beth Chamberlain (a Family Liaison Officer). Her novels have been nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards’ and selected as ‘Thriller of the Month’ by E-thriller.com.

2021 sees Jane’s first foray into psychological suspense with the release of One Good Lie in June. A further psychological suspense novel will follow in 2022, along with a new DCI Helen Lavery book.

Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. You can reach her via her website at www.janeisaac.co.uk where you can join her Readers’ Club for information on new releases.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JaneIsaacAuthor 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JaneIsaacAuthor 

Website: https://janeisaac.co.uk/ 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/janeisaacauthor/ 

four stars - One Good Lie by Jane Isaac | Blog Tour Review

One Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: