featured image
Psychological Thriller

The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan | Blog Tour Review

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Nurse by J. A. Corrigan
Published by Canelo on May 20, 2021
ISBN: 9781800323742
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, Suspense, Romance, General, Crime, Domestic, Legal, Medical, Technological, Mystery & Detective, Family & Relationships, Dysfunctional Families, Dating, Nursing, Nurse & Patient, Urban & Street Lit, Small Town & Rural, Political, Marriage & Long-Term Relationships, Health & Fitness, Pregnancy & Childbirth
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan | Blog Tour Review

When you hear her story, will you believe her?
Rose Marlowe is a hard-working nurse, a loving wife, and a merciless killer. Or so she says. Despite her confession, it is hard to believe that this beautiful, kind woman could have killed her vulnerable patient in cold blood.
Down-on-his luck author and ex-journalist, Theo Hazel, is convinced that there’s more to what happened than Rose is telling, and so decides to visit her behind bars to write her story. His first surprise comes when Rose reveals that the victim was not a stranger to her.
As time goes on, it seems that Rose is letting Theo see behind her perfect mask. With each new visit, he learns terrible new things about her heart-breaking past. With each new visit, he becomes more and more convinced that she can’t be a killer. But is he trying to free an innocent woman, or falling prey to a calculating murderer?
A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Shari Lapena and JP Delaney.
What everyone is saying about The Nurse:
‘A visceral and intelligent psychological suspense, which will stay with you long after the final page' S.E. Lynes
The Nurse is haunting, spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat reading! A must-read for fans of dark and twisty psychological thrillers!’ Noelle Holten
I was captivated by Rose's story. The escalating unease kept me on the edge of my seat, and the twist at the end took my breath away!’ Jane Isaac
What readers are saying about J. A. Corrigan:
‘Perfectly paced... I raced through this book in record time! The storyline was OMFG, brilliant! Dark, twisted and unlike any I have come across – just when I had figured something out – BOOM! – the author threw something else in to mess up my head!’ CrimeBookJunkie, 5 stars
Gut-wrenching stuff... I’ll even admit to tears.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
Exceptional... completely enthralling... Addictively compelling reading, my eyes were superglued to every single page until the last word was read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
‘A lean, mean psychological thriller... Corrigan displays a touch as sharp and precise as a surgeon’s knife. Quite, quite wonderful. I loved it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
Stunning... Bold, visceral and intelligent, with not one word wasted.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
‘Beautifully written, intelligent, and compassionate, with an unforgettable central character... Outstanding.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

J.A. Corrigan is just one of those authors that just command your attention.  The Nurse is a testament to her skill.  Immediately upon putting it down I knew it had a compulsive energy to it.  Think Nurse Ratchet vs Silence of the Lambs. Her characterisation is a crescendo to the senses.  The validity, the moral dilemmas and the utter humanness leaves you in awe with the realism.  My introduction to this author’s work has left me salivating for more and I can’t wait to try more of her delights.  The Nurse is a book that I fell for because of the blurb!  The cover stopped me in my tracks, but the blurb made sure I stayed for the ride!

It is a story that whispered to me…it promised the darkness and a mystery to solve and with a convicted nurse thrown into the mix.  Once upon a time I trained to be a nurse, so this really felt nostalgic, to a point.  There is nothing regular about this story.  The opening chapter impacts like a heart attack and the shockwaves are felt through-out the story.  Rose, a nurse, is on trial for the murder of Abe, she admits her guilt and consequently receives a sentence of twenty years. 

 A nurse is meant to be an individual with a caring disposition, its their vocation, their calling.  Just what could push them to committing the murder of one of their patients?  I loved the tone; it disrupts the status quo.  The plot hit the ground running.  I didn’t have time or space to breathe let alone question too deeply…but question is what the reader must do.  A man in the gallery of the court is intrigued by her story…can he get to the bottom of it?  Will Rose let him?

Theo Hazel is a bit of a broken man.  His marriage has ended in divorce, he lost his teenage son, and his finances are in ruins.  One more month and the bank will be foreclosing on his house.  He has one last chance – writing a book about Rose and her supposed victim, Abe.  He’s convinced his editor will love it and might just be his next big payday.  She’s initially dead set against meeting with him but a chance meeting with a girl named Bella and it spins her world straight out of its orbit.  Be prepared, intrigue, mystery, heartache and dysfunctional families play a central role.

Corrigan has created multiple layers that form a complex plot.  The Nurse had an intelligent narrative and a mystery that would not quit.  I was surprised the sheer force of the writing and the themes tackled with tact and understanding.  It had quite the impact on me.  The author has the unique skill of making sure I was never quite sure about anything.

The Nurse was a twisty tale of betrayal and dysfunctionality.  I felt everything and I was immediately swept up into the story.  Dark and intense.


ABOUT J.A. Corrigan

15513865 - The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan | Blog Tour Review

I was born in Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, and longer ago than I’d want. I now live in Berkshire with a husband, a daughter, and a very cute dog, although I often yearn – especially in winter – to be living in Spain, near to the Alhambra Palace. Perhaps one day…

It was my state primary school teacher, Mr Judson, who first encouraged my love of reading and writing. It’s amazing how one teacher can have such a far-reaching and positive effect on a young child, but Mr Judson certainly did – even if my homework stories were mostly dark, even back then.
At eighteen and with no idea of what to be when I ‘grew up’ I followed my love of words and signed up for a BA Humanities degree in London, majoring in English Literature and History, although at that time it never crossed my mind that I could be a published writer.

After finishing my degree, I worked as a waitress at a bar on Baker Street, in the heart of central London. It was possibly one of the most fun and lucrative jobs I’ve ever had!

From there I moved to Greece where I did a variety of jobs, ranging from teaching English, working on a boat, managing a local restaurant, to coordinating transport from the airport for tourists.

I lived and worked in Spain for a while too, but with a growing interest in in medicine and fitness I decided to come home and study for a BSc in Physiotherapy. The job that followed always held a finite lifespan – because deep inside lurked a strong desire to write.

I began my writing journey with short fiction and magazine articles; my short stories are published in several anthologies. I attended writing festivals where I met other writers, and remain friends with many of them to this day.

In 2012, I cut my teeth on my first novel, an ambitious historical set in my favourite historical era – the first half of the twentieth century – and also my favourite country, Spain. This manuscript, The Spanish Girl, was to sit in my drawer for several years.

Website

four stars - The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan | Blog Tour Review

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: