avenge the dead di frank farrell book 3 by jackie baldwin - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin
Police Procedural

Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin

Avenge the Dead banner - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

avenge the dead di frank farrell book 3 by jackie baldwin - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie BaldwinAvenge the Dead (DI Frank Farrell, Book 3) by Jackie Baldwin
Published by One More Chapter on February 28, 2020
ISBN: 9780008383909
Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery & Detective, Police Procedural, Christian, Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literary, General, Thrillers
Pages: 410
Format: ARC, eBook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four stars - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin

Sometimes murder is the only way to get even...
The gripping new Scottish crime thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of L J Ross and Val McDermid.
Four friends with dark secrets. One killer out for revenge.
DI Frank Farrell and DS McLeod are tasked with investigating the brutal murder of a defence solicitor’s wife in Dumfries.
It’s been over a year since they left the town after an investigation robbed them of a dear friend. But now they’re back and must find a way to move on.
When the son of another defence solicitor is murdered, a strange tattoo etched on his body, the case takes them into darker, more disturbing territory.
It leads them back into the past – to a horrific fire in a cottage that took a woman’s life, to four friends harbouring dark secrets – and finally to a killer waiting patiently for revenge.
Praise for Avenge the Dead
‘Expertly plotted, I was completely engrossed in the investigation and the lives of the characters, there were twists and turns all the way through keeping me on the edge of my seat... definitely a “just one more chapter” kind of read!’ Sharon Bairden, Chapter in My Life
‘Brutal and gritty in parts whilst sensitive and emotional in others, this book had me turning the pages well into the night’ Alison, NetGalley
‘This was another riveting foray into the world of DI Frank Farrell! From the first chapter, I could not put this novel down, staying up late to finish just to see what would come next’ Krystal, NetGalley

Avenge The Dead is an exquisite case study on how the past never truly can stay buried.  Life in the spotlight can have dire consequences.  The invisible bands that hold together relationships and families can violently tear with no means to be repaired.  The story paints a vivid picture of how an action change the landscape of one’s life forever.  This gritty police procedural ticked all the boxes.  Jackie Baldwin gently coaxed me down an unsuspecting path before setting her trap – I aimlessly walked straight into it and she wasn’t sorry a bit!  I greedily lapped it up like there were no tomorrow. 

DS Mhairi MacLeod and DI Frank Farrell are pulled in to assist with the murder of a very prominent solicitor in Dumfries.  Are things as straightforward as they seem?  The husband has an alibi, but it seems weak.  Is it always the spouse that’s to blame or is there darker avenues at play? 

The investigation has many hurdles, none so prominent as the obvious turmoil that DI Frank Farrell is suffering from.  He’s a mess.  Can he really be trusted to lead an investigation appropriately and to completion?  Drinks a problem.  Bottling up his emotions has become a problem.  it’s obvious that something needs to be done.  This humanity and realistic reaction to trauma was especially well done.  Although I wanted him to get better, the depths of my feeling for the situation was one of empathy. 

Avenge The Dead tackles some particularly difficult topics.  We are fed the idea that the murdered wife was less than faithful to her solicitor husband.  An affair with another solicitor.  Is it possible that either her husband or her lover could have murdered her?  Is she keeping any other secrets in her closet or is the husband?  The author led us on a merry trail of betrayal, secrets and brutality.  The clue finding was an adventure and I was more than ready.  Buckled up and ready to go. 

We are catapulted into the fire alongside our detectives once again when it comes to light that another murder has been committed.  This time, a son of another solicitor.  I know what you’re thinking…what’s the connection between the solicitors?  Buy the book to find out, I promise you won’t be disappointed.  Some of my estimations were way off the mark, its actually laughable just how wrong I was.  The author skilfully pulled the wool over my eyes, I was blind to it.  The pace was like a bullet…swift, complete and without mercy. 

Avenge The dead is seeping in the need for justice.  Clear your schedule because you won’t rest until that last page has been digested.  Jackie Baldwin discusses dark themes with compelling authority.

Thanks to Emma@ Damppebbles for my place on the blog tour.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jackie 02 by Kim Ayres 683x1024 - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin

Jackie Baldwin is a Scottish crime writer. Her debut crime novel, Dead Man’s Prayer, was published by Killer Reads on 2nd September 2016. The second in the series, Perfect Dead was published on 15th June 2018. For most of her working life, she has been a solicitor specialising in Family and Criminal Law. She later retrained as a hypnotherapist. Married with a grown family, she recently moved from Dumfries to East Lothian. 

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JackieMBaldwin1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JackieBaldwinAuthor/

Website: http://jackiebaldwin.co.uk/

Competition Time!

WIN

An Avenge the Dead Prize Bundle featuring all three books in the DI Frank Farrell series signed by the author plus extra treats!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four stars - Blog Tour: Avenge The Dead (Frank Farrell #3) by Jackie Baldwin

3 Comments

Leave a Reply