thriller

The Honeymoon by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth #bookreview #thriller

The Honeymoon

Author: Rona Halsall

Publication Date: June 7th 2019

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Pages: 314

Publisher: Bookouture


Synopsis

‘I’m your husband, Chloe. We’re a partnership now and we do what’s best for us as a couple. Staying here is going to be the best option.’ He picked up his drink and took a sip. ‘It’s not open for discussion. We’re not going home.’ 

Chloe had the dream wedding. Dan is her perfect man. They haven’t known each other for long, but as she walked down the aisle and saw him standing by the altar, tears glistening in his eyes, she knew this was forever. 

Later, as they relax on a beautiful island, settling in to their new married life together, they congratulate themselves on their lovely wedding day, and Dan jokes that he’d like them to stay there forever. 

But as the honeymoon goes on, he becomes increasingly adamant. They shouldn’t leave. In fact, he won’t let her… 

An utterly gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Clare Mackintosh, and The Wife Between Us.


My Review

Well, you know that moment when you close a book and you just have to take a moment to sit and think over what you have just read…Yes, you say. Well this is just one of those books. Gripping, Scream at the pages and Intellectually satisfying is how I would instantly describe this book. I haven’t rated a book as 5 stars in a while, this just ticked all of my boxes, it was just that amazing. Here is a few reasons why;

Chloes character arc goes from needing to be wanted by anyone to a strong and powerful force.

We meet Chloe, a practising physiotherapist within the NHS, treating Dan’s mother, who has taken a fall and needs assistance in regaining her strength. Chloe is immediately taken with Dan’s looks, we have a narrative of her failed relationships, her failed relationship with her brother and sister and gran (reasons will be revealed) and she is carrying guilt and responsibility around with her like a ton weight around her neck. She is sucked into Dan’s charm and almost can’t believe her luck that we would be remotely interested in her. They have a very quick courtship that leads to marriage within the space of two months (I know right?!) The wedding arrangements are made and the rest is history or is it? Is it possible that Chloe’s married bliss could be now filled with seeds of doubt?

Dan is more than a bit bat-shit cray cray

Dan seems like the perfect gentleman. Dan wine and dines her every night. Dan wants to spend every minute with Chloe. (RED MASSIVE WARNING BELLS HERE, SURELY?) He cares for his mum, surely that says more about his character than the claxons that were going off in my head? Dan proposes so soon and the wedding is rushed along in a few months with only around 6 guests. They both head off on their honeymoon and things start to go wrong. He alters decisions without having a discussion first, he does some hugely irrational, counterproductive, dumb assery things. Halfway through the book, I just found myself shouting at Chloe for being so damn niave.

Secrets are kept between the two of them leading to a catalyst of it all exploding out. One particular moment being when Dan has nightmares that give Chloe more insight than Dan would either like or want. Chloe shows admirable loyalty to those she loves but there has to be a point where she figures out 2+2=4.

The writing is outstanding

The initial few pages of the book just completely grabbed me and I knew I had to keep reading. The subject matter was very intense but it evoked such emotion from me and that alone in my opinion made this book a success. The story flowed brilliantly, it didn’t feel stagnated or slow. It went along at the pace it was meant to. It had my heart in my mouth and I just had to keep reading to find out the outcome of the story.

Plot – Well Executed

The plot was a serious and intense and for some it could be a trigger when reading. The author handled it appropriately and made it very believable, but in a very fear inducing way. It left you thinking that this could easily happen to you or I. You knew as soon as Chloe arrived in Menorca with Dan that it wasn’t going to be plain sailing and there would be difficulties along the way, just how extreme these difficulties would be were a bit of a shock. The author executed the dialogue and the emotions so well that I could feel anger and fear on behalf of Chloe. The twists and turns weren’t confusing, you had those a-ha moments and just utter shock at some of the actions. The plot was intricate but easy to follow.

Overall, this was an amazing, fast -paced book to read. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys getting lost in Psychological Thrillers.

*I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

5 Stars


12 thoughts on “The Honeymoon by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth #bookreview #thriller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s